Train Like a Pro 2016- June Review

June, the month of the Decathlon, and with that came circuit training. Using a smorgasbord of equipment from weighted sand bags to balance boards to TRX equipment alongside the usual resistance machines and free weights a circuit-like experience was created through spending 30 seconds at each station working at 75-80% of my maximum. Each station was followed by a 15 second rest before moving on to another station working a different area of the body. After working for 15 minutes I would take a slow 5 minute recovery session on the aerobic activity machines or stretch. Depending on how much time I had I would repeat the process once or twice more.

As you’d have guessed from that I had managed to find a gym to use following my university breaking up for summer however the major drawback of this gym is its size. I had gone from a gym with 10 crosstrainers and 14 static bikes to a gym with 2 crosstrainers and 3 static bikes so you can tell that often competition to get on a piece of equipment was tough. Often with people coming in pairs or groups, it would be impossible to get on certain pieces or in certain areas such as the free weight racks, bench/squat areas and on the cable machine. This therefore on occasions made it difficult to get a highly varied circuit workout, nonetheless the time spent remained the same meaning that some muscles and muscle groups were worked more on certain days than others.

Despite no longer being the primary goal to gain muscle mass, I have been able to put on over 2 pounds of weight over the course of the month taking me up to just over 145 pounds, something which I hope continues to happen despite the cardio heavy July programme which I shall describe in my next post. This month adjusting to the new gym environment, long spells on a cardio machine have been hard to come by with my best efforts being limited to 5 minutes with a resistance added cross trainer walk/jog of 0.5km and a resistance added cycle of 2.12km. However I had been able to jog 6 miles from Wellingborough Town’s Dog and Duck Football Ground to Burton Park Wanderers’ Football Ground within 2 hours while allowing one of my friends to keep up. I am hoping that over the coming month there will be more opportunities to redo all of these aerobic activities in attempt to improve on them and have some measure of progression as the new season gets ever closer.

Leave a Reply

