Adventures of One #5

It appears that since the Easter Break, I had completely forgotten about this series, so this should be number 5,6 and 7. I am currently unsure if I shall continue this series after the summer but that’s a long while off with plenty of things to enjoy beforehand.

Since the Easter break, long walks have been the main theme between the three adventures on the Tour T’ North.

Firstly, I visited Grindleford, a very small village which seemed to be 90% train station, walking through the forested areas and nature trails nearby. At one point, I was standing at the top of a long slope which appeared to have a 20ft sheer drop to my side. A large buck deer approached the base…then got closer…and began to climb the hillside towards me. Luckily it could smell the fear on me (and possibly flatulence) from a distance and decided that I wasn’t enough of a threat to attack. From there it was pretty calm going hanging out with several sheep and baby lambs making my way around to close out the rather random four hour round trip.

Next up was a jaunt to the coast at Crosby Beach where I initially got lost leaving the train station down the wrong road, taking a half an hour detour before finally finding the sea with the many statues appearing from the sand…all fun and games until you try to take a selfie with one and start descending in to the quicksand. Only real downside to the trip was the shock that despite the attraction it wasn’t very tourist-like only finding a cafe or somewhere to eat at all…straight after buying a large ice cream. And on the subject of icecream, A 99p Flake was £2…WHAT HAS THIS COUNTRY COME TO?!?!?

Lastly, this weekend, I got lost…I mean headed back out in to the wilderness, this time going to Edale. The online guides for the walk said that it was an easy-moderate walk, mostly flat ground…for the first 20 minutes they were spot on… but then the scale of their lies or rather the scale of the climb became apparent. At around 65-70 degrees from the floor, the walk took me up a hillside where I needed to stop every 10 steps through exhaustion. After taking about 15 minutes to do that part I imagined that I would be near the top…oh boy was I wrong. At the top there was a large flatland which looked like a battleground from Lord of the Rings with in the distance yet another higher peak. Eventually I reached it before finding out that I had taken a completely different route to everybody else up there and that I was just following a family who was just as lost as me. The hard work wasn’t even over once I finally reached the top as the route down kept giving way underfoot so I had to climb down part way and help two elderly ladies and their dog down. Still with around half an hour to the bottom, the loose rocky floor took its toll on your ankles and knees as each step sent all of your weight through your shins, at times with it being nearly impossible to slow yourself down. On the way down I made friends with a girl with one of the best trade deals in history, some of my cereal bars while we were up there in exchange for a cold pint of beer at the base. Why can’t every walk be like that?

I’ve been Crag Banna…signing out.

Leave a Reply

